THE PREMIER DECK BUILDER IN BATON ROUGE

Baton Rouge Fence and Deck

Baton Rouge Fence and Deck provides high quality fence installation and repair services throughout the Baton Rouge area. It would be our pleasure to serve you!

Louisiana’s Old State Capitol

The Old Louisiana State Capitol, otherwise called the State House, is a memorable government building, and presently a gallery, at 100 North Boulevard in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, U.S.A. It housed the Louisiana State Legislature from the mid-nineteenth century until the current state house tower building was built in 1929-32.

It was worked to both resemble and work like a palace and has driven a few local people to call it the Louisiana Castle, the Castle of Baton Rouge, the Castle on the River, or the Museum of Political History; albeit the vast majority simply call it the old legislative hall building. The expression “Old State Capitol” in Louisiana is utilized to allude to the structure and not to the two towns that were previously the capital city: New Orleans and Donaldsonville.

The structure was added to the National Register of Historic Places on January 12, 1973, and was assigned a National Historic Landmark on May 30, 1974.

Reestablished during the 1990s, the Old State Capitol is presently the Museum of Political History. Most as of late, the outside façade has been restored with shades of tan plaster, in perceptible difference to its previous dark stone shading. Various occasions are held there including a yearly ball wherein the members re-establish moves and customs of French culture while wearing eighteenth and nineteenth century dress.

The historical center’s area downtown in Baton Rouge is inside strolling distance of the current state house tower and of numerous socially critical structures. These incorporate the Old Louisiana Governor’s Mansion, the Louisiana Arts and Science Museum, St. Joseph Cathedral, and the generally acclaimed Shaw Center.

In 2010, the Museum of Political History’s guest experience opened, planned by grant winning Bob Rogers and the plan firm BRC Imagination Arts, with attractions and displays exhibiting the structure as a compositional fortune and featuring noteworthy relics. Included is an intelligent display highlighting past state lead representatives including Huey P. Long.

A key fascination, The Ghost of the Castle, is a stand-out multi-faceted dramatic creation, during which guests encounter the apparition of Sarah Morgan Dawson (1842-1909), a youthful Baton Rouge occupant who adored the palace and expounded on it in her book, Sarah Morgan: The Civil War Diary of a Southern Woman (initially distributed in 1913 under an alternate title). In the approximately 12-minute experience, Sarah’s phantom “invokes the structure’s wonderful hardships through history,” appearing “the assurance of regular Louisianans who have saved the palace endlessly time once more.”

Admission to the historical center is free, and the structure is wheelchair-open.

Call Now 225-230-5290