THE PREMIER DECK BUILDER IN BATON ROUGE
Baton Rouge Fence and Deck
Baton Rouge Fence and Deck provides high quality fence and deck installation and repair services throughout the Baton Rouge area. It would be our pleasure to serve you!
Magnolia Mound Plantation
The Magnolia Mound Plantation House is a French Creole house built in 1791 close to the Mississippi River in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. Numerous period archives allude to the estate as Mount Magnolia. The house and a few unique sheds on the grounds of Magnolia Mound Plantation are instances of the vernacular engineering impacts of early pioneers from France and the West Indies. The complex is possessed by the city of Baton Rouge and kept up with by its Recreation Commission (BREC). It is found roughly one mile south of downtown.
The house was recorded on the National Register of Historic Places on September 7, 1972.
The estate house, initial a bungalow, is probably the earliest structure in the present-day city of Baton Rouge.
The land was possessed initially by James Hillin, an early Scots pioneer who showed up in 1786, who lived there with spouse Jane Stanley Hillin, five kids, and six enslaved Africans: Thomas, John, Lucia, Catherine, Jenny, and Anna. On December 23, 1791, John Joyce, from County Cork, Ireland, bought the 950-section of land property. He, his better half Constance Rochon and their kids lived in Mobile, Alabama. When of his suffocating, on May 9, 1798, during a cruising trip from New Orleans to Mobile, Joyce held around 50 slaves at the manor, who developed indigo, tobacco, cotton, and sugarcane under the management of a supervisor.
The widow Constance Rochon Joyce wedded the single man Armand Duplantier, a powerful individual in the space who had four enduring youngsters from his first marriage and had dealt with a ranch nearby Pointe Coupee. She carried 54 captives to the marriage from her estate. He was a previous commander of the Continental Army under the Marquis de Lafayette. They had five kids together. From 1802 to 1805, they amplified the house to oblige their huge family, despite the fact that they utilized it for the most part as a ranch style home. Armand Duplantier passed on in 1827.
Duplantier relatives possessed the estate until 1849; the property then, at that point, had a few proprietors through the late nineteenth century. Around then Louis Barillier offered the land and upgrades to Robert A. Hart.
After the Civil War
Edward J. Gay bought the deed in the mid 1860s and had a few managers run the ranch for him, including the years after the Civil War. In 1869, the chief was W.L. Larimore.
In the twentieth century, Mrs. Blanche Duncan obtained Magnolia Mound Plantation through a family legacy. In 1951, Mrs. Duncan charged the design firm of Goodman and Miller of Baton Rouge to do broad changes and augmentations.
After the property fell into decay, in 1966 the City of Baton Rouge practiced its right of famous area to buy the house and 16 sections of land, to protect the house and its conditions for their memorable and structural worth. The property is a green space inside the city.